The little girl I lost

I was also on vacation when I finally heard from my OB that the last genetic testing came back perfectly normal on the little girl I lost.   That was my last straw of hope for some explanation as to why her perfect little heart stopped beating.  Some explanation that doesn’t come down to my body failing me and my babies yet again.  Some explanation that doesn’t come back to the universe or God just piling more shit on my plate for some ultimate ‘reason’ that I’ll never understand.

I named her, and I wanted to share that with you.

Abigail Mary

My sweet little girl I lost on Mother’s Day.  My Sweetie’s little sister she’ll never get to meet.  My husband’s second daughter and second chance at having a Daddy’s girl (because Sweetie is pretty 70/30 Mommy’s girl).

We have never named any of our babies that we’ve lost before.  We never really agreed on girl’s names to begin with (not even Sweetie’s name, I had to badger him for months about that and in the end I think he just gave in because I had just labored for 30+ hours and pushed her out!)  My husband still didn’t want to name this 6th lost baby, so I will just carry her name in my heart alone.

I’m  feeling a bit guilty about not naming my others now, but losing my 6th baby girl is just so much later and harder than any other of my losses.  I had to honor my baby that I saw so many times on the ultrasound (weekly u/s when you have RPL), heard her little heartbeat so many times, carried her for 16 weeks.

My little Abby.  I love her and miss her every moment of every day.

9 thoughts on “The little girl I lost

  1. (((hugs))) I can sympathize with all of the feelings that go along with having no answers. I still have no idea why my water broke at 15w4d and then delivery at 18w. It doesn’t get easier but I guess it’s another one of those things we have to learn to live with.

    Her name is beautiful.

  2. That’s a beautiful name. I’m so sorry about the loss of your sweet little Abby. I wish I had some comforting words, but I know nothing anyone can say will ever make it right. Just want you to know you are not alone and that I’m thinking of you.

  3. Of course she needs a name. I’m sorry it’s too painful for DH to contemplate right now. But I love it. I never named my lost babies, but they were all so much earlier. I didn’t even know their sexes. Your little girl was with you for a while, and naming her feels right.

    Sending you love and hugs. I’m sorry this happened to you. Life can be so brutally unfair.

  4. Hi from ICLW. I’m so very sorry for your loss, for all your losses. Abigail Mary is a beautiful name. I didn’t name my lost baby, but I think I would now. Back then, I thought I’d be pregnant again in no time. Now I wonder if that was my one and only baby…

Leave a comment